What is Fucoidan?

It is known since the ancient times that seaweeds contain medicinal property, as stated by the oldest Chinese pharmaceutical documents, the “Shennong Bencaojing” (The Divine Farmer's Herb-Root Classic) which mentioned the effects of seaweeds. It is possible that seaweed of the brown algae type was used to treat abnormal cells. “Fucoidan” is also present in brown algae, a slimy component discovered in 1913 by Professor Kylin of the Uppsala University in Sweden. Initially named as “Fucoidin” and later renamed to “Fucoidan” (The Chinese medical term is “brown algae sugar gel”, literally) according to the international organization IUPAC.

Fucoidan is a slimy component specifically found on the surface of brown algae, such as Mozuku, Mekabu or Kombu, and is a type of water-soluble dietary fiber. Chemically, fucoidan is a polysaccharide, composed mainly of fucose. Other than fucose, the polysaccaride chain also contains galactose, mannose, xylose and uronic acid. The name “Fucoidan” does not represent the specific structure of a substance, but a general term that refers to high-molecular polysaccharides fucose as the main constituent.

What are the benefits of Fucoidan?

During the 55th Annual Meeting of the Japanese Association in 1996, a research study published during the meeting mentioned that it has been proven that the fucoidan contained in the Saccarina sculpera – the ingredient of kombu – has anti-abnormal cells effect. Subsequent studies have also discovered that seaweeds like Mozuku, Mekabu and other brown algae also contain fucoidan. Fucoidan that is extracted from different algae is also functionally and chemically distinctive. Scientific research has proven that fucoidan has three main functions:

1. Induces Cellular Apoptosis

Normally, cells have a certain life span, and will naturally die. This is a genetically programmed cell death mechanism. However, abnormal cells have lost the apoptosis function, and will continue to proliferate, metastasize, and cause the serious outcome of indefinite cell growth. Study has shown that fucoidan may induce apoptosis and triggers the self-destruction mechanism of abnormal cells. There will be a disintegration of the DNA in the abnormal cells, causing cell death and disappearance. Fucoidan will promote apoptosis in abnormal cells and has no effect on normal cells. Just as a tadpole grows into a frog, its tail slowly disappeared over time.

2. Inhibits Angiogenesis In The Abnormal Cells

Inhibition of angiogenesis means to stop new blood vessel growing in the abnormal cells. During the initial stage, abnormal cells grow at a fixed rate. However, when the abnormal cell diameter has reached 2mm, their growth accelerates. Abnormal cells require nutrients and oxygen supply to grow and metastasize. With these in supply, they generate signals to produce new blood vessels. Once there are new blood vessels growing around the abnormal cells, they can move to other parts of the body. Therefore, if we can inhibit the formation of new blood vessels, the abnormal cells will not receive nutrients and oxygen, and cannot transfer to other locations.

Fucoidan can inhibit the growth of abnormal blood vessels and prevent proliferation of the abnormal cells.

3. Enhance Human Immunity

The human body defends itself from foreign agents or abnormal cells by immune cells such as the NK cell, macrophage, T-cell and B-cell. Because fucoidan is a high molecular polysaccharide, it is not easily absorbed by the intestinal tract and will be understood by the intestinal immunity system as foreign agent. This then activates the immune system to carefully screen fucoidan, which in turn enhances the body's ability to defend against disease.

Fucoidan Health and preventive functions:

  • Promote blood circulation

  • Improve liver function

  • Anti-oxidation

  • Resist Helicobacter pylori

  • Anti-viral

  • Anti-allergy

什么是褐藻糖胶?

自古以来我们知道海藻是有药理利益,当中“神农本草经”是中国历史最古老的药用护理书。书中提到了海藻的效用,当时可能使用褐藻类的马尾藻,用来治愈顽疾。“褐藻糖胶”也存在于褐藻当中,是于西元1913年由凯林教授在瑞典乌普萨拉大学发现海带中特有的黏滑成份。当初名为“Fucoidin”,后来被称为“Fucoidan ”(中文医学名称为“褐藻糖胶”) ,根据国际IUPAC组织而命为名糖胶。

褐藻糖胶是一种只来自褐色海藻表面的黏滑成份,而这些褐藻均来自海蕴(Mozuku)和裙带菜孢子叶(Mekabu)或昆布(kombu) ,它们都为水溶性的食物纤维。从化学角度来说,褐藻糖胶是一种高分子多醣体,其主要成分是硫酸岩藻糖。除岩藻糖外,糖链的构成还包括褐藻糖胶半乳糖、甘露糖、木糖及醣醛酸。命名为“褐藻糖胶”并不代表物质的特定结构,只为一个通用语来解释其主要成份为高分子多醣岩藻糖。

褐藻糖胶的好处?

1996年举行的“第55届日本顽疾学会总会”,会中所发表的一篇研究报告,提到了:“经证实,昆布丝原料 ─ 笼目昆布(Saccharina sculpera)中所含的褐藻糖胶具有抗顽疾作用。”往后的研究中也发现海蕴、鹿角藻、裙带菜孢子叶根等,也含有“褐藻糖胶”,而从不同海藻中萃取出的“褐藻糖胶”,化学构造与机能都有所不同。目前经科学研究证实,“褐藻糖胶”主要有三个功能:

一、诱导异细胞自动凋亡

正常细胞均有一定的寿命,会自然凋亡。这是一种基因程序性细胞死亡机制。然而,异细胞是失去“自我凋亡机制”的不正常细胞,它会不断增生、转移,造成“细胞无限繁殖”的严重后果。研究指出褐藻糖胶可透过诱导异细胞凋亡作用,触发异细胞自毁机制,其基因异细胞的DNA将会被分解,继而使异细胞死亡并且消失。褐藻糖胶能促使异细胞“自杀”,而且不会对正常细胞造成影响。 就像蝌蚪长大成青蛙时,它的尾巴慢慢消失的道理一样。

二、抑制异细胞血管新生

“抑制异细胞血管增生”是阻止新的异细胞血管生长。在开始阶段,异细胞是以固定速度来生长,但当异细胞直径到了约2毫米时,它们的生长速度便会加快。异细胞是需要营养和氧气供给来生长和转移,当有这些供给时,他们便会发出信号产生新的异细胞血管。一旦异细胞有新的异血管生长在他们周围,他们便有能力转移到身体其他地方。因此,如果我们可以抑制新的异血管形成,异细胞便会无法得到养分和氧气,也不能转移到其他地方。

褐藻糖胶能抑制异细胞血管生长,从而防止异细胞扩散。

三、提升人体免疫力

人体抵御外来异物或体内变异细胞,主要是依靠自然杀手细胞(NK Cell)、巨噬细胞(Macrophage)、T细胞、B细胞等免疫细胞。因为“褐藻糖胶”是高分子多醣体,不易被肠道吸引,会被肠道免疫系统的“误会”褐藻糖胶是异来物质,提高免疫力来非常严格地盘查“褐藻糖胶”,来加强身体抵抗疾病的能力。

“褐藻糖胶”保健及预防功效:

  • 促进血液运行

  • 增强肝功能

  • 抗氧化

  • 抗幽门螺旋杆菌

  • 抗病毒

  • 抗过敏