Expert recommendations

Agricultural Doctor and Researcher Of Food Chemistry

Prof. Kouji Yamada

Faculty of Agriculture, Graduate School of Bioresrouce & Bioenvrionmental Sciences, Kyushu University, Professor of biological functions and biological chemistry, and food chemistry. Doctoral degree in agriculture science

Recent research include immune modulators in food, anti-abnormal cells factors in food, and factors regulating lipid metabolism in food ingredients.

Publications /"Handbook on development of anti-allergic food" (Science Forum), "Quick guide on understanding food components" (Maruzen), "Dietary and health information" (Moji Retro) , "Story f Seaweed" (NPO Research Institute of Fucoidan)

Strengthening The Natural Immunity In Human Body

The secret to health is maintaining the normal functions of the immune systems

Although virus or bacteria do not usually seriously affect our health, many infectious phenomenons will appear when our immunity becomes weakened. The degeneration of conditions of terminal abnormal cells patients or elderly patients are usually caused by infections. While some pathogen do not affect healthy people, they may have serious consequences to people with weakened immunity.

To maintain healthy status, we must work hard everyday to keep our natural immunity healthy, and be careful not to get sick. Also, as it is well known that the immune functions are not only affected by drugs, but also modulated by dietary nutrition. If we watch our diet everyday we can keep our immune system healthy.

What are the mechanisms of the dietary fibers that keep the intestinal tracts healthy?

Maintaining the intestinal environment is the key to maintaining immunity The human body produces antibodies and proteins called "cytokines", which are the key players in modulating the body's immune reactions. Dietary fiber is a food ingredient that regulates these types of commanding proteins.

Studies have shown that when feeding dietary fibers to experimental rats, the production of antibodies that cause allergies have been decreased. Conversely the amount of antibodies that inhibits allergic reactions have been increased. Therefore, dietary fibers are believed to be able to modulate immune reactions.

In addition, dietary fibers are probiotic food, and can increase the production of immunity related probiotics such as the lactic acid bacteria and bifidobacteria. Once the probiotics have been increased, they will inhibit the "bad" bacteria that produces harmful substances and stop their growths. Dietary fibers are also effective in preventing abnormal cells.

Dietary fibers the solution to modern problems – abnormal cell and obesity

Mushrooms, seaweeds and vegetables contain abundant dietary fibers. Polysaccharide that is hard to digest and low in caloric contents, is beneficial for weight control, and essential in preventing various modern diseases.

Prevention of abnormal cell

Dietary fibers not only prevent proliferation of bad pathogens, but also absorbs the abnormal cells substances secreted by the pathogens. These pathogens are mostly lipid-soluble. Dietary fibers will encapsulate these lipid-soluble substances and excrete out of the body via feces.

Prevention of metabolic syndrome

Greasy will result in over-absorption of fats Dietary fibers combine with the cholesterol and bile acid to prevent absorption of these substances. Bile acid is produced from cholesterol in the liver. The binding of bile acid with dietary fibers will lower the blood cholesterol and the key factor of obesity – blood lipids, lowering the risk of cerebral infarction or myocardial infarction.

Suitable for diabetic patients

Diabetes is a type of disease caused by increased concentrations of glucose-based blood sugars. The hard-to-digest dietary fibers will reduce the degradation of starch into glucose, and prevents the absorption of glucose. Dietary fibers can inhibit the increase of blood glucose level and prevent diabetes.

The basis of maintaining health is a balanced nutrition. We can obtain various nutrients including dietary fibers from a variety of foods and which could improve our immunity and prevent diseases.

专家推介

食品化学研究者、农学博士

山田耕路教授

九州大学大学院 生物资源环境科学府专攻生物机能科学生物机能化学讲座食粮化学研究室教授。农学博士。

近期主要的研究/食品中免疫调节因子相关研究、食品中抗癌成分相关研究、食品成分之脂质代谢调节机能

著作/“抗过敏食品开发手册”(Science Forum)、“迅速理解食品成分资料集”(丸善)、“饮食与健康资料集”(门司印刷)、“海藻的故事”(褐藻糖胶研究所)等。

山田耕路教授

人体与生俱来免疫力的增强要点

健康的秘诀在于维持免疫机制的正常运作

虽然有病毒或细菌入侵体内,也不会严重影响健康,然而,当免疫力变差,却会因此出现各种感染现象。末期顽 疾或高龄患者病情恶化,大多是因为感染所引起的。有些病原体对健康的人来说没什么影响,但对免疫力变差的人来说 ,却有可能引发严重的后果。

为了维持健康的状态,我们必须每天努力维持与生俱来的免疫力,小心注意别让自己生病了。另外,众所周知, 免疫的作用不只受到药物影响,也可藉由食物营养调节,若平时就注意饮食,即可维持免疫系统健康。

2 调整肠道环境的“膳食纤维”,其作用机制为何?

肠道环境是维持“免疫力”重要的关键。人体内会产生抗体或被称为“细胞激素”的蛋白质,这种蛋白质,正是调 节体内免疫反应的重要司令官。而“膳食纤维”,则是调节合成此种指挥型蛋白质的食品成分之一。

有报告指出,根据某项实验,喂给大鼠膳食纤维后,发现造成过敏的抗体产生量下降,相反地,可抑制过敏的抗体 却增加了。因此我们可认为“膳食纤维”有调节免疫反应的效果。

不仅如此,“膳食纤维”也是益菌的食物,可增加跟免疫有关的乳酸菌或比菲德氏菌等益菌,一旦益菌增加,便可 抑制制造致异物质的坏菌,不让其增生,“膳食纤维”对于预防癌症也有相当的功效。

“膳食纤维”解决现代人诸多烦恼-顽疾、肥胖

菇类、海藻类、蔬菜等中含有丰富的“膳食纤维”,是难以消化的多醣类,热量低有助于瘦身,对现代人而言, 也是预防各种疾病不可或缺的成分。

预防顽疾

“膳食纤维”不仅能抑制坏菌增生,也负责吸收坏菌产生的致顽疾物质。这些致癌物质大多是脂溶性,“膳食纤 维”会包覆住这些脂溶性物质,随着粪便一起排出体外。

预防新陈代谢症候群

一旦饮食太油腻,就会吸收过多脂肪。“膳食纤维”会与食物中的胆固醇或胆酸结合,防止这些成分被吸收。胆 酸是在肝脏中用胆固醇制造出来的,所以膳食纤维与胆酸结合会让血中胆固醇值下降,而肥胖的大敌─血液中性脂肪也 会减少,因此降低脑梗塞或心肌梗塞的风险。

适合关注糖尿病人士

糖尿病是以葡萄糖为主的血糖浓度超过一定程度时发生的病症。难以消化的“膳食纤维”可以减缓淀粉分解速度延后生成为葡萄糖,也可以阻碍葡萄糖吸收,藉由“膳食纤维”,能抑制血液中葡萄糖浓度上升,预防糖尿病。

保持健康的基本在于饮食要营养均衡,我们可从各式各样的食物中补充包括“膳食纤维”在内的各种营养素,提高免疫力、预防疾病。